Another bean- Part 3

4:25am: So, we get in the car. I had a rice sock because my hips were achy. Bobby and I were chatting about various things on the way: what did we pack? What did we forget? Have I texted the doula? Holy crap we are having another kid… etc. After 5 or 10 minutes in the car or so, bobby asks me if I have timed any of the contractions. ugh. No. I hadn’t, but I figured it would be good info to have, so I do.

Meanwhile, our doula has said she’ll meet us up there after they check me, if I have progressed enough.

Well…. after timing a few contractions, it is clear that something is amiss. They are 2-3 minutes apart, all lasting more than a minute. Ha. hmmmm. I text our doula and let her know. Her reply? I’ll meet you there.

Bobby asks again about the contractions, so I tell him. True to his calm style, he continues to chat calmly with me, as I watch the speedometer creep up into the 80-90 mph range. I remind him of the speed limit. I mean, i’m not screaming yet, right? We won’t be having a car baby? Right? Just calm down!

We spent the rest of the trip half laughing that I had let the contractions get so close. Bobby knew I would do that if he didn’t intervene…

About 2 minutes later, at 4-something in the morning, the highway comes to a halt. (Ask my husband what happens when you slam on the brakes during a contraction… GRRRR.) Now, I was nervous.

Maybe this will be a car-baby, after all???

Thank goodness it was just construction and we were out of it in about 5 minutes.

Without further incident, we arrived at the hospital. I was so glad to get out of the car. It felt so much better to stand and sway. We walked calmly to the front door, then the front desk. Breathing and talking all the way.

I wouldn’t think this was amazing until later, when I realized my own personal awesomeness, but up to this point, there had been no:

  • screaming
  • yelling
  • general anger
  • doubt
  • fear
  • serious or more-than-annoying pain
  • contractions that I couldn’t talk or walk through

We arrived a little before 5:30 am. (maybe around 5:15-5:20)

Check back tomorrow  for what happened nexxxxxt!

p.s. what happens next, is, in my opinion the best part.

-CL

Holding my sweet baby man!
Holding my sweet baby man!

Leave a comment